Whenever you heard that the  Academic Staff Union of Universities is embarking on strike the first thing that will always come into your mind is Which Universities Are Under ASUU? List of State Universities Under ASUU, List of Federal Universities Under ASUU?

Well, if you have been searching for the list of schools under ASUU then this post you are currently reading will benefit you as I’m going to show you the list of Varsities that are under the Umbrella of ASUU.

Which Universities Are Under ASUU

Before then, What Is This ASUU?

The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) was founded in 1978.

ASUU and the Federal Government of Nigeria are always in conflict over funding of the Nigerian Universities, better working conditions among others.

And each time the two parties call for a meeting to settle their disagreements, it usually ended with the government promising the union that the demands would be met soon.

Why Is ASUU Always On Strike?

The government’s refusal to meet the union’s demands since 1999 has however been the basic reason ASUU goes on strike almost every year.

Now that you know the meaning of ASUU and the role of ASUU in the Nigerian educational system, let’s check out the list of schools, institutions that are under this umbrella.

Which Universities Are Under ASUU?

Below is the list of Federal and State Universities that are Under the umbrella of the Academic Staff Union of Universities.

It must however be noted that all Federal Universities are under ASUU.

State Universities are also part of ASUU at the State Level.

It must further be noted that Private Universities are not under the Umbrella of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU).

List of Federal Universities Under ASUU

  1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University

  2. Ahmadu Bello University

  3. Air Force Institute Of Technology

  4. Bayero University

  5. Federal University Gashua

  6. Federal University Of Agriculture

  7. Federal University Of Petroleum Resources

  8. Federal University Of Technology

  9. Federal University Of Technology, Minna

  10. Federal University Of Technology, Owerri

  11. Federal University, Birnin

  12. Federal University, Dutse

  13. Federal University, Dutsin-ma

  14. Federal University, Gusau

  15. Federal University, Kashere

  16. Federal University, Lafia

  17. Federal University, Lokoja

  18. Federal University, Ndifu-alike

  19. Federal University, Otuoke

  20. Federal University, Oye-ekiti

  21. Federal University, Wukari

  22. Michael Okpara University Of Agricultural

  23. Modibbo Adama University Of Technology

  24. National Open University Of Nigeria

  25. Nigeria Police Academy Wudil

  26. Nigerian Army University Biu

  27. Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna

  28. Nigerian Maritime University

  29. Nnamdi Azikiwe University

  30. Obafemi Awolowo University

  31. University Of Abuja

  32. University Of Agriculture

  33. University Of Benin

  34. University Of Calabar

  35. University Of Health Technology

  36. University Of Ibadan

  37. University Of Ilorin

  38. University Of Jos

  39. University Of Lagos

  40. University Of Maiduguri

  41. University Of Nigeria

  42. University Of Port-Harcourt

  43. University Of Uyo

  44. Usumanu Danfodiyo University

List Of State Universities Under ASUU

  1. Abia State University (IMSU)
  2. Adamawa State University, Mubi
  3. Akwa Ibom State University Of Technology, Uyo
  4. Ambrose Alli University
  5. Anambra State University
  6. Bauchi State University
  7. Benue State University, Makurdi
  8. Delta State University, Abraka
  9. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  10. Ignatus Ajuru University Of Education
  11. Imo State University
  12. Kaduna State University
  13. Kano State University Of Technology
  14. Kebbi State University Of Science And Technology
  15. Kogi State University
  16. Kwara State University, Malete
  17. Ladoke Akintola University Of Science And Technology
  18. Lagos State University (LASU)
  19. Michael Okpara University Of Agriculture, Umudike, Abia State
  20. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
  21. Niger Delta University, Yenagoa
  22. Ondo State University Of Science And Technology
  23. Osun State University
  24. Rivers State University Of Science And Technology
  25. Sokoto State University
  26. Sule Lamido University
  27. Tai Solarin University Of Education
  28. Taraba State University
  29. University Of Ado Ekiti
  30. Yobe State University

Now you know the list of Universities that Are Under ASUU.

Thanks for reading.

Thanks for reading, please share.

If you have any questions, leave me a comment below and I will try my best to respond also do well to subscribe so as to be notified when I reply to your comment, thanks.


Empowering Students through Educational Resources & Information To Create Solutions For Tomorrow's Challenges. Feel Free To Follow me on Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | WhatsApp


  1. Hussaini kakule Reply

    Hello how about the issue of Asuu strike 48 hours for announcement

Write A Comment