NUGA Games 2022 | All You Need to Know

Are you interested in the ongoing NUGA Games 2022? On this page, I will quickly show you EXACTLY all you need to know about NUGA Games 2022, Nigerian University Games Association.

NUGA Games 2022 | All You Need to Know

All You Need To Know About NUGA Games

The Nigerian University Games Association (NUGA) was formed in July 1965, shortly after the 1st West African University Games that was held at the University of Ibadan earlier that year.

In 1966, the first NUGA Games was held at the University of Ibadan the five Universities in Nigeria at that time namely: the University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University), Ile-Ife; University of Nigeria, Nsukka; University of Lagos, Akoka and Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

Currently, there are over Seventy Six (76) Universities as members of NUGA and this cut across private and public (Federal and State) owned.

At the beginning, only very few sports were involved but the member of sports have over time grown to sixteen namely: Athletics, Badminton, Basketball, Chess, Cricket, Football, Handball, Hockey, Judo, Scrabble, Squash, Swimming, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Tennis and Volleyball.

Over the years, many University athletes have represented Nigeria at various international competitions like the Commonwealth and Olympic Games. Some of the notable ones include Seyi Olofinjana (Football), Vincent Enyeama (Football), Bisi Afoloabi (Athletics), Olumide Oyedeji (Basketball), Chika Chukwumerije (Taekwondo) and Olusoji Fasuba (Athletics), who is the current African record holder in 100 metres (Men) with a time of 9.85 seconds.

NUGA Games 2022

The 26th NUGA Games 2022 was held at the University of Lagos.

Prior to the final competition at the University of Lagos, elimination competitions would be held at the various NUGA Zones with over Ten thousand athletes from close to 76 Universities participating.

The 26th edition of the Nigerian University Games Association (NUGA) Games has begun on Saturday night in Lagos.

The University of Lagos (UNILAG) is the host institution with more than 7,000 student-athletes and their officials from over 76 universities nationwide featuring in a total of 21 sporting events.

In 2022, Prof Stephen Sanaah was elected as NUGA President.

According to him, NUGA Games is designed for university students in the country either government or privately-owned to exhibit their sporting talents with a view to developing them for fun and economic purposes.

In the first event of the day at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, the host institution (UNILAG) picked its first gold medal by winning the five kilometres female walk race.

Its flag bearer, Naomi Nnamdi, returned a time of 33.27 minutes to claim gold while Having Adeshina from the University of Ilorin got silver with a time of 33.39 minutes.

Rita Odigba from the University of Port Harcourt won bronze medal after returning a time of 33.44 minutes.

The NUGA Games Executive Committee

The NUGA Executive Committee meets at least once a year to take all the significant decisions necessary for optimal organisation functioning.

Members are voted in except the Secretary General.

  1. President – Prof. Stephen Hamafyelto

  2. Vice-President – Mr. Emeka Ogbu

  3. Treasurer – Prof. M.G Yakasai

  4. Ex- Officio – Mr. Godwin Ogbobe

  5. Secretary General – Mr. Bola Orodele

List Of Schools That Participate In NUGA Games 2022

Universities that Participate In NUGA:

  1. Imo State University, Owerri

  2. Lagos State University, Ojo

  3. Nile University Abuja

  4. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike

  5. Kogi State University, Ayangba

  6. Nigerian Army University, Biu

  7. University of Agriculture, Makurdi

  8. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki

  9. Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto

  10. University of Nigeria, Nsukka

  11. Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun

  12. Sokoto State University, Sokoto

  13. Unversity of Calabar, Calabar

  14. Gombe State University, Gombe

  15. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria

  16. Federal University of Technology, Minna

  17. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu

  18. Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island

  19. Federal University Birnin Kebbi, Birnin Kebbi

  20. Federal University of Petroleum, Effurun

  21. Osun State University, Osogbo

  22. Federal University Kashere, Kashere

  23. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin

  24. Federal University of Technology, Akure

  25. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife

  26. Nasarawa State University, Keffi

  27. Modibbo Adama University, Yola

  28. Akwa Ibom State University

  29. Abia State University, Uturu

  30. Adamawa State University, Mubi

  31. First Technical University, Ibadan

  32. Cross River State University, Calabar

  33. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye

  34. Benue State University, Makurdi

  35. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi

  36. Federal University Gasua

  37. Yobe State University, Damaturu

  38. Umaru Musa Yaradua University, Katsina

  39. Mountain Top University, Ibafo

  40. Delta State University, Abraka

  41. Federal University Oye Ekiti

  42. University of Ibadan, Ibadan

  43. University of Benin, Benin

  44. Lead City University, Ibadan

  45. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Akwa

  46. University of Lagos, Lagos

  47. Kaduna State University, Kaduna

  48. Federal University Otueke, Bayelsa

  49. University of Ilorin, Ilorin

  50. Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Port Harcourt

  51. Summit University Offa, Offa

  52. Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano

  53. University of Uyo, Uyo

  54. Adekunle Ajashin University, Akungba-Akoko

  55. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso

  56. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai

  57. Federal University, Dutse

  58. Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta

  59. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti

  60. Taraba State University, Jaligo

  61. University of Jos, Jos

  62. Rivers State University, Portharcourt

  63. University of Abuja, Abuja

  64. Bayero University kano, Kano

  65. Federal University Lokoja, Lokoja

  66. Borno State University

  67. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma

  68. Edo State Universiy, Iyamho

  69. Federal University of Technology, Owerri

  70. Federal University Lafia, Lafia

  71. Kwara State University, Molete

  72. Alex Ekweme Federal University, Ndufu-Alike

  73. Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti

  74. Kano State University of Science And Technology

  75. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri, etc

NUGA Games Winners 2022

Check back later for NUGA Game winners 2022

SOURCE: NUGA Official Website

One thought on “NUGA Games 2022 | All You Need to Know

  • March 24, 2022 at 11:50 PM

    Hi, please how can i get my school into the next Nuga?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *